I was unable get the old avatars reimported. Regretfully, you will have to upload your avatar again. Please report any issues here,.

trade options for my KLR250

General BS :bull: and other irrelevant chit-chat :kumbaya:
juddspaintballs
DAMN Grand Poohba

trade options for my KLR250

Post by juddspaintballs »

Ideally, I eventually want to tag my replacement dirt bike for street legal, but that's not a complete huge MUST for me.

I've been offered a 2002 YZ250 2 smoke in trade for my KLR250. What are your thoughts? I'm still learning how to ride off-road and I'm going mainly for woods riding.
Jed Gregory
1090 Adventure R
Marylander
DAMN Admin

Re: trade options for my KLR250

Post by Marylander »

That yz is essentially the same sort of bike as I use for woods riding. Since you've already got another dual sport for mixed riding I say go for it, assuming the yz looks like a comparable trade.
thetable
DAMN Expert

Post by thetable »

Seems like you might be coming out on the short end of that one excepting the POs were really good about maintenance. A 13 year old MX bike would be something out of the range that I'd consider. That said, I wouldn't be above looking at the maintenance records before I looked at the bike.
Skinny-J
DAMN Admin

Post by Skinny-J »

Jed,

A YZ 250 2T can be made into a decent woods bikes but it is going to take quite a bit of work if the bike in still in MX form. The biggest problem for a dirt noob is that in stock form the power band is digital and once flipped on is like lighting off a rocket ship headed to the moon. I would NOT recommend this bike for someone still getting used to off-road riding. There are plenty of 2T bikes out there that are purpose built for enduro riding and would be much more feasible to tag (you can tag a YZ with some parts from an old WR 2T and some DMV magic but that is another looong story)