I was unable get the old avatars reimported. Regretfully, you will have to upload your avatar again. Please report any issues here,.

Cold & wet weather off road gear

General BS :bull: and other irrelevant chit-chat :kumbaya:
smdub
DAMN Poohba

Cold & wet weather off road gear

Post by smdub »

I'm new to the dirt bike/DS thing. I was planning to head out to Granville early Sat to help but they are calling for rain in very cold temps. The one thing I've learned all these years riding on the road is that cold + getting wet = MISERABLE. I'm realizing today that I'm totally ill-prepared to handle simultaneous cold and wet on an off-road ride. All my dirt gear has been focused towards avoiding heat stoke in the summer weather. So for something like the expected Granville conditions or a DS ride in the middle of January, how do you folks typ gear up? Is there a substitute that works 'well enough' vs dedicated motorcycle gear.

Jacket: I can cover. I could use my RevIt Sand on-road gear or lots of under layers + a tough waterproof mil-surplus waterproof shell I have. So far so good.
Pants: Normally wear an ITB pant on the dirt bike. I guess I can choke the calves of the boots up enough to fit and pull my RevIt road pants over the boots
Gloves: Yeah I can probably find something waterproof around here but not sure it will be warm enough. Ski gloves?
Boots: smooth bottom MX boots are going to be suicidal walking in the snow. The trials boots have decent soles but thin and likely too cold. Not sure I can get a really thick pair of socks on in either of them. Wear work boots??
Helmet: This is where I think I'm toast. Don't want to wear the $$$ road helmet knowing I *WILL* crash and tear it up but can't wear my max ventilated summer time dirt bike helmet w/ goggles either. I would think there is really no other option than to break down and get a cheap-o street/ADV helmet w/ a proper visor and vents that can be shut?