I was unable get the old avatars reimported. Regretfully, you will have to upload your avatar again. Please report any issues here,.

Any riders on the Eastern Shore

Want to go for a DAMN Ride? So do we! :whoop:
trevorb
DAMN n00b

Any riders on the Eastern Shore

Post by trevorb »

I live in Salisbury. I make maps for a living and have been combing digital street files for all the unpaved roads in MD setting up some routes to explore. I'm starting on the Eastern Shore then plan to eventually locate all of them in Maryland and I'll put together a crude web map for all you guys to see similar to motorcycleroads.com (obviously not as fancy since I'm doing this in my free time haha) if all goes well.

If anyone knows of any good trails/backroads or would like to help me explore some of the ones I'm locating let me know. I plan to be out and about every other weekend this spring.

I'll start another thread and ask this question too, but does anyone know of a comprehensive dual-sport friendly online database like motorcycle-roads.com? I haven't found a decent one yet so would like to put one together for us to use. The problem is I'm not a great programmer so web mapping is tough and takes time for me to sort out. However, if anyone is interested in a digital PDF type map I already have all the software necessary to create one of those highlighting roads across the State based on surface type, quality of DSness, etc. If anyone is interested in something of this sort let me know.
stretchride
DAMN Expert

Re: Any riders on the Eastern Shore

Post by stretchride »

Hey trevorb, I've also been working on a similar project, cool to see you post this! I hadn't really figured it all out (and maybe never will haha) so I'd been sitting on it, but I think there may be some stuff you might like to look at along with the other guys, so I posted it over in Dirt Roads and Creek Crossings.

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=3438