I was unable get the old avatars reimported. Regretfully, you will have to upload your avatar again. Please report any issues here,.

How to improve brakes? (Warning: rambling)

DAMN maintenance and repair thread; including Farkle Fests! :boohoo:
smdub
DAMN Poohba

How to improve brakes? (Warning: rambling)

Post by smdub »

Disclaimer: Having raced cars and ridden a lot of mountain biking, along w/ being an engineer, I am a brake snob. They should have little travel to the engagement point then be very firm to be force modulated. Squishy pedals and levers suck IMO.

Ok, so on to my main question: I have some play bikes to teach wife/friends. XR100 w/ drums on both ends. Those that suck as bad as those old 70's era bikes w/ drums you'd borrow from a college friend and hoon around on (They honestly suck.) The TTR125LE is another one: Disc front and drum rear. The disc works 'ok' but the rear drum still sucks. Definitely not Brembo Ducati/KTM level but they are cheap toys so what can I honestly expect right? Enter the TTR125L (w/ 150cc BBK) project I bought this winter. Exact same year and bike as my LE except no e-start. It has AMAZING brakes front AND rear. As good feel as the Brembo KTMs. WTF?

I'll discuss the front disc first:
LE: works well but once engagement starts the lever can be pulled back almost to the bar for good stopping force. Its just squishy.
L: about the same amount of initial movement but goes super firm once pads engage. Pulling really hard will not let the lever go to the bar.